Quilts on the Brain – Patterns Everywhere!

One of my favorite bloggers, Piece O’Cake, recently shared some photos of “patterns” she found on a recent trip and it got me thinking about places where I have been inspired to design quilts in my head.

For instance, the floor tile at my work would make a great pattern for a quilt if I could just figure out which colors to use.

If you haven’t discovered it yet, the local home improvement store is a great place to look for patterns. Not only in the tile department, but the gardening area too. Think lattices, garden path stones, stained glass suncatchers … Even the area rugs section can offer inspiration!

I’ve also bought fabric for a yet-to-be-made quilt after seeing a delightful china sugar bowl and plate in an antique store. I just couldn’t get the colors out of my head.

When you’ve got “quilts on the brain”, where do you find inspiration to design a quilt? I can’t wait to hear your ideas!

Until then, Happy Quilting! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Quilts on the Brain – Patterns Everywhere!

  1. I always ending up drawing in my moleskin until I get it right…sometime I have to try it in different colors….hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

