Spring Buzz

Spring is almost here and we are busy planning and planting our garden. I love fresh veggies picked on a summer evening and thrown on the grill or tossed into a stir fry!

Last summer we started an adventure with backyard chickens and thanks to our four hens we have a never ending supply of fresh eggs. I think our next adventure should include bees and I know the perfect spot for the hive. However, my hubby isn’t quite as enthusiastic! 😉

Now I know you’re wondering what this has to do with a quilt, but I was sorting through my stash and found the bees and apple fabric I used for a toddler quilt I made a couple years ago. It was for Lulu, the daughter of my coworker who is a master gardener. When planning the quilt I couldn’t resist the bees fabric since I know how important they are for growing things.

Lulu's Quilt

I used a pattern called “twos & fours”, but have also found the block to be called “disappearing four”. The block construction differs, but the result is the same.

Lulu's

I used leftover strips from the blocks along with “chalkboard” fabric to make the back.

Lulu's Back

My friend tells me that Lulu loves to trace the letters and numbers on the quilt. It’s the learning tool I hoped it would be along with keeping Lulu warm in the winter and place on which to nap in summers’s shade.

Lulu's back close up

The leftover fabrics would make a lovely table topper for the picnic table and it would bring extra “bees” into the backyard without the work of a hive. Hubby should like that!

Until next time, Happy Quilting!

2 thoughts on “Spring Buzz

  1. I made this pattern a while ago but used disappearing 9-patch. It looks the same as yours…..gorgeous 🙂 Avis x

  2. dawnmariew19 says:

    Avis, thanks! I love this pattern because it goes together so quickly even with the pinning of each point.

Leave a Reply

