Fusing Glass & Community

My Inner Artist is at it again. ๐Ÿ™‚

A few weeks ago I told you about the clay bowl I decorated with quilt blocks for my community’s Empty Bowls Project. This week I joined a couple dozen other folks to make slumped glass bowls, which are almost shallow enough to be called plates.

DSC_0019

About 1000 bowls made of clay, glass, wood and fabric will be created by local artists (or artist wannabes like me!) during March and April. The bowls are donated to the local food bank and will be sold at the Empty Bowls sale in early May to raise money to help feed the hungry in our community.

DSC_0026

These fused glass creations are really easy to make. It starts with piles of glass pieces in all shapes and sizes.

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

Once you have laid out your design on the flat piece of glass, you start gluing each piece down.

DSC_0034

The little plastic cup contains the “glue” which is really AquaNet hairspray!! That’s what I was told! Apparently it’s sticky enough to keep the pieces in place without interfering with the fusing process in the glass kiln when the piece is fired.

Of course, I wanted my creation to have a quilting theme, so just like the clay bowl, I designed a quilt block for the glass one too!

DSC_0040

Here’s the almost finished product (still needs to be fired):

DSC_0048

I can’t wait to see it when it’s done and hopefully I can be the one to buy it at the sale. If not, I know that someone else liked it, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

There is another chance to make the glass bowls on April 6th and if you live here and want to join me, let me know and we can make it a party!

Until next time, Happy Quilting!

6 thoughts on “Fusing Glass & Community

  1. What an amazing idea! I love your start – can’t wait to see what it looks like after firing!

  2. Oh I’d love to try this. Your bowl will be beautiful! That’s another thing to add to my list ๐Ÿ˜‰ Avis x

    • dawnmariew19 says:

      Avis, it was really easy. We have a glass guild and school here that has drop in hours as well as classes. Hopefully you have something similar nearby. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • I’m ashamed to say I actually live about 5 miles from our National Glass Centre and I haven’t even been inside! I’m going to investigate ๐Ÿ™‚ Avis x

  3. dawnmariew19 says:

    Definitely go! There is a spectacular glass museum in Tacoma, Washington that is dedicated to blown glass and I love going there. Lots of inspiration for quilting, too. I really want to make a “stained glass” quilt some day.

Leave a Reply

