My Safari Begins….

Any time I get to spend in fabric stores is a happy time, so I couldn’t wait to begin this weekend adventure. 🙂 This Safari adventure (aka “Shop Hop”) involves twelve stops in Oregon’s beautiful Willamette Valley and beyond.

image

According to mapquest the complete journey involves driving about 320 miles. Since I live near the center of the Hop route, I started in Eugene and plan to do the Off the Beaten Path…A Quilter’s Safari in three stages. I am determined to get all 12 stamps on my passport, so I can dream of winning the Bernina sewing machine that the Bonus Stop, Rich’s Sew & Vacuum, is offering.

My first stop Friday was The Country Bumpkin in west Eugene.

image

This store used to be in a small community southeast of Eugene, but moved to the “big city” about a year and a half ago. The move yielded a much larger classroom space and room for the long-arm quilting machine, plus a delightful assortment of gift ideas as well as quilting supplies.

At each stop on the Hop, you get your Safari Passport stamped and choose your free little bundle of fabric.

image

Most of the shops also offer the chance to win a store prize by entering drawings at each store. (Note to self: Next time bring address labels!) The Country Bumpkin’s prize is a wonderful Quilt and Tea basket.

image

My next stop was the Bonus store where after getting my passport stamped, I was given a package of three sewing machine needles. Oh, I also spent time drooling over the wonderful sewing machines and dreaming how nice it would be to own such a tool. Please, please draw my name to win the Bernina! 😉

Then on to The Quilt Patch which is in a historic part of Eugene and next door to a fly fishing shop (hear that guys?!). 🙂

image image

The Quilt Patch has a great collection of locally made patterns and a wide variety of fabrics and the staff is always friendly.

My final stop of the day was Piece by Piece, Eugene’s thoroughly modern quilt shop filled with lots of bright and colorful fabrics. This is where I got the fabrics for my Work in Progress.

image image

Piece by Piece is also in the middle of auctioning its sample quilts and projects off to benefit the local food bank. If you want to bid, click here. I am sure they would ship if you can’t pick up. 😉

Day one solo…four stops completed. Day two starts early, but with a carload of quilters it will be a blast! Stay tuned 🙂

Happy Quilting! (And shopping!)

Leave a Reply

