Shhh! Don’t Tell My Dad!

I’m going on a road trip. Not just any road trip, mind you. This one is with my Dad!

He knows that part, so don’t worry about spilling those beans! In fact, I am pretty sure he suspects the awful truth I am trying to keep from him. He hinted at it when we talked the other night. ๐Ÿ˜‰

You see, he is already on the road and I am joining him for part of the journey. He and my newly-graduated-from-high-school niece took off from Idaho a week ago to head to Minnesota where they will visit family and watch my nephew graduate from high school, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am flying to Minnesota on Friday to join him for the trip home. (My niece heads home earlier.)

After arriving, Dad casually mentioned that he had noticed a few signs for quilt stores in the smaller towns they went through and figured I would have wanted to stop. ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay this is the part you can’t tell him. (Dad, stop reading right now!)
On my recent Shop Hop, I bought this book:

image

Yes, it’s the Quilters’ Travel Companion and it lists more than 2000 quilt shops in the United States, plus Canada! Now, I told Dad we might have to stop in one or two along the way but I am sure he doesn’t realize what I really meant was one or two in each state we drive through! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Right now the plan is to leave Minneapolis and “swing by” Indianapolis before heading west for home. The way I have it figured, we’ll be driving through Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and then Wyoming (or maybe Colorado and Utah) before hitting the Idaho border!

image image

Let’s see…. Each state multiplied by two shops (if you’re still reading Dad, remember we need pit stops and I will buy the coffee!!)….that’s only going to be 18 shops! And, yes, if I have to drive through Illinois twice, I should be able to stop both times – different shops of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I know we only have a week to get back to Idaho so I will be happy with a minimum of one shop in each state. At least I won’t be begging to go to tourist traps attractions like “Wall Drug” or the “world famous snake pit at Stateline” like I did as a youngster on those many trips to and from Minnesota. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Quilt shops or not, I am really looking forward to this time on the road with my Dad visiting family, friends and seeing his old stomping grounds through adult eyes. Just wish my Hubby could join us for this adventure, too. He could keep Dad company while I spend hours minutes in each of those fabric paradises!

I will keep you posted on this latest adventure and if you know of some “must see” places along the way, please let me know.

Until next time, Happy Quilting!

P.S.
“Must sees” can include quilt shops, too — just don’t tell Dad that I will be in charge of the GPS thingy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Shhh! Don’t Tell My Dad!

  1. Roberta Canton says:

    Ha Ha ha. I hope your Dad has a good book or two. Safe travels.

  2. denisemundy says:

    How adventurous. You quilters know how to have fun.

Leave a Reply

