Family Fun, Two States, Three Shops!

After arriving in Minneapolis Friday afternoon, the high school graduation celebration for my nephew continued. He graduated Thursday evening, but we celebrated as a family on Friday after I arrived. So fun to be with my two Minnesota nephews and Idaho niece.

image

On Saturday, I joined my Dad and brother-in-law in a little jaunt to historic Excelsior for a “art in the park” event on the shore of Lake Minnetonka. a beautiful community with a “step back in time” Main Street.

image

Saturday afternoon, my sister and youngest nephew made a quick trip to Chanhassen to visit “Make It Sew”. It’s a cute little shop that specializes in modern fabrics.

image

image

In addition to quilting materials, the shop also has garment fabrics and teaches sewing classes. I asked if they had any fabric that said Minnesota on it. They did not, but my nephew found this which he thinks “says” Minnesota and I have to agree!

image

I called around and found a shop in Plymouth that has Minnesota fabric, so my sister indulged me this morning in another shop. This one is Blue Bamboo Quality Quilting Supplies. As the name suggests, it specializes in Asian fabrics.

image

image

Here’s the Minnesota fabric I purchased:

image

Shortly after visiting the shop it was time to say goodbye to family and Dad and I headed to Madison where we are spending the night before getting to the Indianapolis area tomorrow afternoon. Realizing our time in Wisconsin may not jive with quilt shop hours, I started prepping Dad that we would have to stop sooner rather than later. I called ahead to the shop in Eau Claire, The Calico Shoppe. Yes, they had Wisconsin fabric and gave great directions — even telling us how to navigate the MAJOR road construction in front of the shop!

image

image

image

Wisconsin is in the middle of its statewide shop hop (Dad said no — not enough time! lol) but I did get fabric that lists all the towns involved!

image

But the best find was this:

image

It is a Civil War reproduction fabric that I have been looking for during the last year and a half!! I have been scouring Oregon shops for it with no luck until now. Yippee! Hope I bought enough. 🙂 Tomorrow we are headed through Illinois and Indiana, so we’ll see what the day will bring.

Until next time, Happy Quilting!

2 thoughts on “Family Fun, Two States, Three Shops!

  1. Roberta Canton says:

    This is fun to read Dawn. Keep it coming.

  2. Carol Snead says:

    This is so much fun to hear about! Love to see your fabric finds….and don’t forget to make time to play our games!

Leave a Reply

