Road Trip, Day Two & No Shops!

Blogging with slow hotel Internet connections just doesn’t work, so I am doing “catch-up” posts about my Midwest road trip with Dad. πŸ™‚

We left Madison, Wisconsin early last Tuesday morning, with the goal of reaching the Indianapolis area by mid afternoon. Dad’s childhood friend/Army buddy lives just north of the city in a small town called Elwood.

I tried to get photos of the welcome signs as we crossed state borders, but not all cooperated, so for Illinois the rest stop marker will have to do:

image

Both Dad and I were quite surprised how many wind farms there are in the Midwest! In the Pacific Northwest, we have a lot of these windmills, but they usually sit on high ridges and as far as I could see, the Midwest doesn’t have too many of those! πŸ˜‰

DSC_0592

Thousands and thousands of windmills dot the landscape. Along with beautiful farms that have big, old houses and many silos.
We got a not-so-good picture of the Indiana sign as we crossed the border, so I snapped a shot of a different kind of welcome sign once we stopped.

DSC_0596

When we arrived in Elwood, our hosts took us to nearby Alexandria so we could see the Gaither Music Center and have dinner. For fans of Southern Gospel music, this is a highlight and worth the stop. πŸ™‚

Here’s my Dad, Dottie and Reuben, looking good despite the rain showers!

DSC_0603

It was so much fun listening to Dad and Reuben reminisce! Through the stories, I learned several things about Dad and his “Minnesota days”. πŸ™‚

That night we stayed in Elwood’s only accommodation for travelers, The Plum House Bed & Breakfast where I was given the Paris room and my Dad stayed in the Golf room (complete with giant golf statue!!)

DSC_0618

DSC_0610

DSC_0611

Now Regarding my goal of one quilt shop per state, you will notice I have not mentioned visiting one in this post. 😦 Believe me when I say it was not because we didn’t try!

My Quilter’s Travel Companion book showed four stores in Rockford, Illinois, but I knew that would be too early in the day to stop. However, our GPS directed us off the freeway at Rockford (apparently it was set to avoid toll roads! LOL) and had us passing through the very intersection where one happened to be located – much to my delight! Sadly, we were passing through 40 minutes before they opened and all I could do was wave and look at the page in the book!

DSC_0581

But that’s okay because I really had my sights set on the shop in Peru, Illinois. (Have always thought it would be fun to go to Peru, but that normally requires a passport!) The book said it was just off the freeway and far enough into the journey that we would be ready to stop and stretch our legs. The GPS led us right to the shop — or would have if the shop still existed! 😦 😦 Up to this point, I had called ahead to each shop to confirm details like their address and that they were still open, but forgot to do so this time. Lesson learned! πŸ™‚

Oh well, there is still another chance to get an Illinois shop when we head west to go home!

Until then, Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

