Jelly Roll Quilt Race

This is a great video tutorial on making the Jelly Roll Race Quilt. I tried reblogging it from another site earlier, but apparently the video got lost in the process, so with apologies, here it is again:

I have made several of these, but with a twist. I take about half of the strips and cut them in half before mixing them back into the pile of long strips. This creates more initial seams to sew when joining the strips together, but it also makes more variations in the finished product. 🙂 plus, you don’t have to cut off the first strip – just start with a short strip.

I did a black and white version where I randomly inserted 2-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ strips of red. It really made the quilt “pop”. I also added a red border to it.

image

Have fun with this. You’ll be surprised how quickly you can put together a quilt top! I always take a jelly roll to retreats so I know I get at least one project done there! 🙂 🙂

Until next time,
Happy Quilting!

One thought on “Jelly Roll Quilt Race

  1. Roberta Canton says:

    Very nice. You are right, the red looks fabulous! I am so glad that you are home!

Leave a Reply

